The Yogic Symbol

Like most things, at least for me, we don’t fully understand them until after we have experienced them personally. It might make since to some extent when described to us, but its not until after fully experiencing it in our own realities that we make that connection of ‘oh, that’s what that means,’ or ‘ okay, now I get it.’

Here is the introduction to the symbol. The description and explaining of these different levels of the spiritual practice that yoga is, so you plant some seeds for in the future when you look back after some time and experience has past and you can say, okay, now I get it.

If yoga has come into your life you most likely have seen this symbol. The Om ( Aum) symbol.

It wasnt until I was at my teacher training when I was introduced to the deeper meaning of this symbol, and then not until a couple months out of training that I came back across it, reread my notes, and had that ‘Oh, I get it’ realization. It’s like the saying goes, when the student is ready, the teacher appears. My training started about a year before my ‘scheduled’ training. My world was taking me through these different states of consciousness so I would be able to understand them, and then explain them. But I had to fully complete/experience each level and then come back to it, to understand what I had just gone through.

So here we go!


This is the most common state of consciousness that us human beings live in. The Waking State. Where our awareness is turned outward and we experience through our senses.


This is unconsciousness. Where we desire nothing, and dream nothing. A state of deep sleep.


This is a state of consciousness in-between wakefulness and dreaming. Where we are turned inward, and our dreaming self witnesses the view of the world behind the lids of the eyes.


This is where our consciousness is neither inward, nor outward, but in-between. A place of unity, stability, of coming to rest. It is an utterly quiet, peaceful, and blissful state.

This is end point or the ultimate goal of yoga. This state illuminates all three other states.

There is also a common phrase in yoga that explains this final stage well.

It reads- Chitta Vritti Nirodhah ( the stilling of the fluctuations of the mind)

It is in this state of stillness of the mind that everything else becomes still as well. Where we find peace within ourselves, and therefore peace in our outer world as well.

Published by Jody Vining

Helping you live in such a way where you shine every day. Where you laugh so much you get your ab workout in for the day. Where your skin, eyes, and aura just glow with confidence, joy, and love, and it radiates off of you onto others. Life is supposed to be fun. We are here to feel joy, happiness, comfort, and love. We are meant to live our passions and dreams. My passions focus around Mindset, Food, Nutrition, Clean Lifestyle, and making sure you are fulfilled from the inside out. I accept you for exactly who you are. Our minds can get stuck in negative places so Im here to help you rewire those crazy thoughts, change around the habits that don't help you thrive and add in new ones that do. I remind you what it feels like to live intuitively. Being your True, Beautiful, Joyful, Authentic, Empowered Self. As you are meant to be. ∞ ∞ ∞ ∞ "The best kind of people are the ones that come into your life and make you see the sun where you once saw clouds. The people that believe in you so much, you start to believe in yourself too. The people that love you for being you. The once in a lifetime kind of people."

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s